Compliments

What is the greatest compliment you’ve ever received?

aca67d1359390fb36ace831ceadfa9f6

This was the question posed to readers in the March 2013 issue of Real Simple magazine. While I’d rather keep my answer personal, I was almost brought to tears by the sincerity of the responses featured in the magazine. It’s astonishing how a simple compliment can mean so much more to a person than you ever expected. Next time you are feeling irritated or annoyed with someone, try giving them a compliment. It might change the way you feel, and it will almost certainly change their day. I was inspired to give out more compliments this week.

Here are a few examples from the magazine I particularly enjoyed:

“To calm my crying baby on a plane, I sang her a few peaceful songs. Once she nodded off, a man in the row behind me leaned forward and said, “Your daughter is so lucky to have you sing to her like that.” People usually complain when a baby is fussy on a flight, but he was compassionate. I was so touched.” – Evi Pasmancyzk, Portland, Oregon

“After working late for a few nights on a new project, my husband came to me and said, “I need your help with something.” Then, almost to himself, he added, “I need you for everything.” It’s so wonderful to know that the man I love values me so much.” – Sue Curtis, Troy, Ohio

“After I helped my senior manager understand some data I had put together, he said, “My IQ goes up the minute you walk in my door.” His flattery made me want to work even harder.” – Kalli K. Saland, Ankeny, Iowa

And my personal favorite:

“Ever since I was little, I knew that I wanted to be a teacher so I could share my passion for reading. Needless to say, I was elated when one of my first-grade students said, “Mrs. Heckman, my sister told me that you have a special spell that makes kids love books.” Tears came to my eyes because I knew I had accomplished my goal.” – Patti Heckman, Ripon, Wisconsin

{image via; and be sure to check out realsimple.com}
Leave a comment

Filed under Cool Stuff

Leave a Reply

