Current Obsession #16

As a frequent road-trip-taker, I’ve found it necessary to find ways to entertain myself (keep myself awake) while driving. I’ll listen to music or a book on tape, talk to myself, etc., but even that can get boring after a while. So I recently went in search of a podcast or two that could keep me interested and alert while driving. The best of these is “Ask Me Another.”

“Ask Me Another” is a game-show type podcast put on by NPR and hosted by Ophira Eisenberg. Taped in front of a live studio audience, contestants answer and solve puzzles, word games, and trivia. It’s funny, fast-paced, and the questions are about at my level–I don’t end the show with 4 out of 50 questions correct like I do when watching Jeopardy!. There is also a “mystery guest” in each episode, who then competes against an audience member in a trivia game with questions from their specialty.

Sample games:

  • This, That, or the Other: Contestants are given a word and have to decide whether it is a Harry Potter spell, prescription drug, or piece of IKEA furniture.
  • Members Only: Contestants must find the category that binds four items listed.
  • Interject-Songs!: Contestants must guess the original, exclamatory titles of songs with new interjections swapped in. (ex. “Yikes!, I did it again,” would be, “Oops! I did it again.”)

It’s free on iTunes, and a great way to challenge yourself or just pass the time!

{photo via}
1 Comment

Filed under Current Obsessions

One response to “Current Obsession #16

  1. Pingback: Glee Recap: Sadie Hawkins | Thoroughly Modern Megan

Leave a Reply

