2012 Academy Awards

Over the years, I have had mixed feelings about awards shows. I love them, but let’s be real–rich people giving rich people awards is messed up. Oh well, let’s call it a guilty pleasure and get on with the recapping.

[I must confess, I only saw TWO of the movies nominated for anything: Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close and Bridesmaids. Pathetic.]

The pre show is painfully awkward as always. -1 But Gwyneth Paltrow reveals she got ready for the show with Cameron Diaz. Who isn’t Gwyneth Paltrow friends with??? +2

I’m a bit neutral about Billy Crystal hosting. I like him as an actor, and he’s proven to be a good host. Even 

I may be neutral about Billy Crystal, but I am not neutral about a Justin Bieber sighting. +4

Sidenote: I agree with Daniel RadcliffeHarry Potter and the Deathly Hallows should have been nominated for more. And now I have referenced Justin Bieber and Harry Potter. -3 for me on a personal level.

The “theme” for this year’s show seemed to be “going to the movies,” as in, going to the actual theater to watch a movie. Let me make this clear: I love going to the movie theater. I love huge screens, comfy chairs, and most of all, BUTTERED POPCORN. But going to the theater is expensive, and this makes me sad. -2

Christian Bale presents an award for something or another. Remember The Fighter? +4

Melissa McCarthy should be given every award for just being herself. +5

 Bradley Cooper’s Mustache. -3 Why is he still good looking?? +1

Cirque de Soliel performs a routine that interprets what it feels like to go to the movies. It mostly reminded me of that scene in Knocked Up where Seth Rogen and Paul Rudd take shrooms and then go see Cirque de Soliel in Vegas. And I’m not mad about that. +1

Best Presenter is a tie between Robert Downey, Jr. and Emma Stone. They should be in a movie together. +5

Christopher Plummer wins for Best Supporting Actor in The Beginners. +4 But He really wins for this:

I was reading the Entertainment Weekly liveblog while watching the telecast, and the boards LIT UP for that Revenge promo. +2

The Muppets wins for Best Original Song with “Man or Muppet,” but Jason Segel wins for this: +3

More stuff happens and awards are given out and WHY DIDN’T I GO SEE MORE OF THESE MOVIES IT WOULD HAVE MADE THIS SO MUCH MORE ENTERTAINING. -3

The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore wins for Best Animated Short. I’ve never seen/heard of it, but I love books. +1

Jean Dujardin is so handsome. +4

Meryl Streep. +5

Can I be perfectly honest? I’m more excited for Titanic 3D to come to theaters than I am about any of the movies this year.

Now on to the fashion. Here, very quickly, are my favorites:

Thoughts? Opinions? Feel free to share in the comments!

{photos via oscar.com and huffingtonpost.com}
1 Comment

Filed under Awards Shows

One response to “2012 Academy Awards

  1. DJ Mo Dizzy

    I cried for: Meryl and The Christopher Plummer. So classy/classic.
    I also wish Bridesmaids would have won more. I guess I should just be happy a comedy was nominated for such a variety of categories.
    P.S. no mention of the nip slip. -6 Loving Biebs so much: +100

Leave a Reply

