I Found Love in this Hopeless Television Show

It’s been a long time since I’ve loved Glee. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve still been watching it. It’s just been a while since an episode was this good [untiltheveryend]. And it made me want to devote an extreme amount of time to writing about it on here. It contained all the things I originally loved about the show and more. Okay, I’ll stop introducing and just get to it.

The episode began with the groups recreating “Summer Nights” about Mercedes and Sam’s summer romance. Mercedes’ necklace says, “Foxy,” and as my sister would say, “I don’t hate that.”

Sidenote: Why is Puck kissing/smelling/holding Sam’s hand? Please explain in the comments below.

Emma, meanwhile, is wondering why Will doesn’t want to marry her. Normally my sister and I despise when the adults are featured too often, but I liked this version of “Wedding Bell Blues” enough to accept it. Also, Will looks so preciously excited.

The assignment of the week is, of course, to come up with a really cool way for Will to propose to Emma. Please forget the fact that Will called the class his “family” and asked Finn to be his best man. Glee is not known for its respect of  student/teacher boundaries. The boys did a boring version of “Moves Like Jagger” (maybe I didn’t like it because I am so incredibly sick of that stupid song), but the girls put together a cover of “The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face” that I have already listened to maybe a hundred times. You can watch the performance below. It’s worth it.

Dear Rachel/Lea Michele,

Why do you feel like you have to cry EVERY TIME YOU PERFORM to make us feel something?? That single teardrop running down your face at all times is just distracting. Please take notes from Santana/Naya Rivera, who, despite having had some sorts of plastic surgery/injections in her face, can still express emotion without tears. Thank you.

Becky also had a pretty serious story arc this episode, with an inner monologue voiced by none other than Queen Helen Mirren.

Artie gives a pretty righteous speech to the Glee Club after they accuse him of leading Becky on:

“You guys talk a good game how it’s okay to be different, how it’s what’s on the inside that counts, but I think you’re just as narrow minded as the rest of this school. I like spending time with Becky. She knows what it’s like to be trapped by a disability, she doesn’t care what people think about her, she’s really optimistic about life, which is really amazing considering what life has handed her.”

I have to say, I sometimes hate on Glee for not getting things right. Artie is right – the Glee Club (and the writers of Glee) talk so much about being open minded, but their characters end up being so stereotypical it’s almost sad. I was glad that this episode made so many of the characters more real. One in particular was Finn, who, quite realistically, is struggling with what to do in the future. (We all go through this!) He is considering joining the Army, to serve like his father, who he believes died while serving overseas. He is dealt a heartbreaking blow when his mother reveals to him that his father died not as a hero, but as an addict. She tells him his father was so much more than those last few months of his life, but Finn is understandably angry and shaken.

I also appreciated Emma and Will’s conversation about her OCD. Will is questioning whether or not she will be able to handle the future stresses of life and says that her situation sometimes seems “hopeless.” Emma’s honest and vulnerable response broke my heart.

“Can I promise you that I’m gonna get better? No. This is what you get, you know, this incomplete person with toothbrushes and with rubber gloves and with so much love for you. But if that’s not what you want, then you need to be honest with me, and with yourself. And the sooner the better.”

Whoa, this is getting heavy.

Did I mention NeNe Leakes of Real Housewives of Atlanta “fame” guest stars as Sam’s new synchronized swimming coach and gives a speech that starts with, “I have never seen lips like that on a white child,” and ends with, “You pee in my pool, I will kill you.”

My sister and I were so determined to not enjoy Lea Michele’s version of “Without You,” but we can’t help it. It’s so good. I’m not a huge Finn and Rachel fan, but there is serious chemistry here. I mean, even Santana smiled! (Although Brittany…??) And sorry, I couldn’t not include a picture of Blaine. And Kurt’s hat.

Once again, you can watch the video below. It is also worth watching.

And I liked Rachel’s outfit.

Okay, I’m almost done, I swear. The last bit of the episode was devoted to Will’s proposal, which was cheesy and ridiculous enough to make it good. The sheer joy on everyone’s face made the awkwardness worth it.

Watch the video below. SPOILER ALERT: She says yes.

Oh and at the very end, this happened:

But I’m mostly trying to forget about it because I’m not sure how to feel. If you watched, how do you feel about the episode (ESPECIALLY THE ENDING)???

Leave a comment

Filed under Glee, TV

Leave a Reply

