Top Broadway Songs

It’s Broadway weekend! Although, come to think of it, what weekend isn’t Broadway weekend in my house? What I mean is, the 2009 Tony Awards are this Sunday at 8/7c on CBS. And they’re hosted by none other than Barney Stinson himself, Neil Patrick Harris. You’re going to watch, right??? No? Well, you should!

In honor of the Tony’s, I’ve decided to give my list of the Top Modern Broadway Songs. And by modern, I mean post-1986. Now, this is just my opinion. I know these aren’t the most iconic Broadway songs. These are just my personal favorites. You will notice that for a couple of the musicals, I have more than one favorite song, but I am counting them as one, since they are from the same musical, and because I can! Just click on the song titles to hear musical accompaniment (and for those of you who are slower to figure these kinds of things out, like me, you can just hold down the “control” key on your keyboard and click the link to open it in a new tab).

In no particular order:

-“I’ll Cover You (Reprise)” – Rent. Try not to cry. Just try.

-“Ragtime” & “Your Daddy’s Son” – Ragtime. Ragtime was one of the first musicals I ever saw. I don’t really remember anything about it, but I love listening to the soundtrack now. You will be moved by Audra McDonald singing “Your Daddy’s Son” to her son she buried alive in the dirt. Seriously, that’s what happens, I’m not kidding.

-“A Little Fall of Rain” – Les Miserables. I plan on singing this song while I die a slow, painful death. Well, I would plan on it if I could.

The entire albumSpring Awakening. All of the songs are my favorite. Okay if I had to pick one, it would be…nope, can’t do it. They’re all that good.

-“No Me Diga” and “Finale” – In The Heights. “No Me Diga” makes me laugh. I love Andrea Burns as Daniela, she has the coolest accent ever. Also, “Finale” is the coolest finale song ever.

-“I’d Give My Life for You” – Miss Saigon. My favorite female singer, Lea Salonga.

-“I Turned the Corner/I’m Falling in Love with Someone”- Thoroughly Modern Millie. Yes, the musical after which this blog was named. Gavin Creel has the BEST male singing voice . Seth Rudetsky points out some of the amazing things Gavin does with his voice in this song on his video blog here. It’s so beautiful. Gavin is in Hair on Broadway right now (maybe I’ll see him when I’m in New York?). This song makes me swoon.

-“All Over the World” – Xanadu. Yes, Xanadu. Cheyenne Jackson has the second best male voice ever, after Gavin, and he’s super amazing looking. This song makes me dance.

-“Green Green Dress” – tick, tick…BOOM! The lesser known of the Jonathan Larson (Rent) musicals. Raul Esparza was the original Jon in this, and that’s his voice on the recording. I love how sassy this is.

-“Defying Gravity” – Wicked. I can’t leave off my first musical obsession. I cried the first time I saw this performance on Broadway. It never gets old.

-“Phantom of the Opera” – Phantom of the Opera. The first musical I ever saw on Broadway in New York. Best-song-in-a-musical-named-after-the-musical’s-title ever. I chose this one because it’s iconic and haunting and Christine hits that ca-razy note at the end!

Some honorable mentions: “Superboy and the Invisible Girl(Next to Normal), My Friend the Dictionary” and “The I Love You Song” (The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee), “Every Story is a Love Story” (Aida), “What Do You Do With a B.A. in English?/It Sucks to Be Me” (Avenue Q), “The Life of the Party” (The Wild Party).

So what did I leave out? Do you have any favorites? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a comment

Filed under Broadway

Leave a Reply

