I Love You, “I Love You, Man”

I Love You, ManThere is nothing better on a Friday night than a good comedy, so tonight, I went and saw I Love You, Man. Here’s a synopsis from “Yahoo! Movies” for the unfamiliar:

“Peter Klaven [Paul Rudd] is a successful real estate agent who, upon getting engaged to the woman of his dreams, Zooey [Rashida Jones], discovers, to his dismay and chagrin, that he has no male friend close enough to serve as his Best Man. Peter immediately sets out to rectify the situation, embarking on a series of bizarre and awkward ‘man-dates,’ before meeting Sydney Fife [Jason Segel], a charming, opinionated man with whom he instantly bonds. But the closer the two men get, the more Peter’s relationship with Zooey suffers, ultimately forcing him to choose between his fiancee and his new found “bro,” in a story that comically explores what it truly means to be a ‘friend.'”

Paul Rudd has been on my good side ever since Clueless and he was so natural as this character, it was hilarious. He gets bonus points for awkwardly abbreviating half his words (i.e., “totes” instead of “totally”), in the same way I do. But it was Jason Segal who MADE this movie. I love Jason’s other shows and movies (How I Met Your Mother, Freaks and Geeks, Forgetting Sarah Marshall), and he, like Paul Rudd, played a perfect part. I can’t forget to mention the amazing Andy Samberg, playing Peter’s brother Robbie, the masculine gay guy. I heart Andy Samberg.
Yes, I Love You, Man featured the typical male-dominated comedy necessities–puke, poop, lewd jokes, and sex talk. If those offend you, you can certainly go see Race to Witch Mountain instead. If you want to laugh HARD, see this movie.

Leave a comment

Filed under Movies

Leave a Reply

